Mobile Story- October 20, 2015

In case you’re wondering after you reach the end-yes it is mostly a true story.

October 20. 2015

Script

SCENE: Inside car driving

TODAY I DECIDED TO TAKE THE SHORT TRIP TO UTICA AND VISIT THE PHOTO EXHIBIT OF A WOMAN I MET UNDER MOST UNUSUAL CIRCUMSTANCES…HER NAME IS SYLVIA DESWAAN…

Photos to support audio

I WAS SHOOTING VIDEO FOR A STORY FOR A WEEKLY TV SHOW….IT WAS AT THE FUNERAL

FOR A POLICE OFFICER WHO WAS SHOT AND KILLED DURING A ROBBERY…

IT WAS A COLD, RAINY DAY AND WHILE I WAS FILMING I NOTICED A FRAIL OLDER WOMAN WITH A STILL CAMERA FROM THE 60S TAKING PICTURES OF THE MOTORCYCLES

WHEN I TALKED TO HER SHE SAID THAT SHE WAS A WORLD REKNOWNED PHOTOGRAPHER WITH EXHIBITS AROUND THE WORLD…SHE ALSO TOLD ME THAT SHE STARTED AN INTERNATIONAL ARTIST RETREAT CALLED SCULPTURE SPACE

Sculpture Space footage and Sylvia DeSwaan photos

…SCULPTURE SPACE  IS LOCATED IN UTICA AND HOUSES ARTISTS FROM AROUND THE WORLD FOR RESIDENCIES AND THEY CREATE ART PIECES THAT ARE EXHIBITED FIRST IN UTICA AND THEN HEAD FOR DISTANT DESTINATIONS.

Video footage for Utica Psychiatric Center and the former Insane Asylum

HER STORY SOUNDED A BIT INCREDIBLE…ESPECIALLY SINCE NEAR THE LOCATION OF THE FUNERAL IS A MENTAL HEALTH FACILITY. DUE TO OVERCROWDING, PATIENTS ARE OFTEN RELEASED ON THE STREETS TOO SOON. A TRADITION THAT GOES BACK TO THE NEARBY NOW CLOSED NEW YORK STATE LUNATIC ASYLUM AT UTICA WHICH OPENED IN 1843 OPENED. YEARS LATER IT WAS RENAMED THE UTICA PSYCHIATRIC CENTER AND CLOSED IN 1978. I WONDER IF SOME OF THOSE FORMER PATIENTS ARE STILL ON THE STREETS.

Sylvia DSwann self Portrait photos

SYLVIA DESWAAN IS NOT A FORMER PATIENT. EVERYTHING SHE SAID WAS TRUE…I HAVE BUMPED INTO HER SEVERAL TIMES

Utica train Station footage/Sylvia DeSwaan photo of Rick E. Lewis supered on each other

..MOST RECENTLY WHILE FILMING A SCENE NEAR THE UTICA TRAIN STATION FOR A MOVIE FOR THE UTICA 48 HOUR FILM FESTIVAL

Footage from the movie “Lost Dog”

…WE CAST HER AS AN EXTRA…

Facebook still from Sylvia DeSwaan

SHE HAD SENT ME A PERSONAL INVITE TO HER EXHIBIT. I MISSED THE OPEN. I MISSED THE MEET AND GREET AND SO I DECIDED TO MAKE SURE I COULD GET TO THE EXHIBIT BEFORE IT CLOSES ON OCTOBER 31.

Video footage walking to the gallery

I’VE BEEN TO HER HOUSE AND SEEN HER ARTWORK, I’VE SEEN HER PHOTOS ONLINE BUT I’VE NEVER SEEN HER PHOTOS IN A GALLERY.

Video footage of locked closed gallery.

I GUESS NOT TODAY.

Music: Someone Your Own Size-RW Smith

Double Agent-Everet Almond

Photos: ©Sylvia de Swaan. Awesome Inc.

Leave a Reply

